Far, far away from Salmo

Settling into non-catered accommodations at the university has been the first opportunity I’ve had to truly keep myself feed. Having to buy and prepare food for myself full time has been a learning experience. I have always loved to cook, so it hasn’t been much of a struggle in that part of the process. However, the planning has been quite different than I am use to. Typically when I am at home, the planning of a meal was opening up the cupboards and refrigerator to see what strategy was best fit to provide a decent meal. Now I am having to be sure I have the right food to structure a good meal, especially with limited refrigerator space. Some of my favorite meals have been those which we have prepared together as a ‘flat family’, exhibiting each of our own cooking skills and culture.
12067345_10153237780132810_1378010344_n

(Refrigerator shared between myself and four other flat mates)

Leave a Reply

